Corporate Team scoops Law Firm of the Year at Insider Dealmakers Awards

2 corporate partners at Dealmakers Awards Print news article


Image – John Hamer and Debbie Jackson accept the award from Peter Heckingbottom, Pearson Jones.

Walker Morris wins at dealmakers award for second consecutive year

The Corporate Team at Walker Morris has won the coveted ‘Law Firm of the Year’ Award at the eagerly anticipated Insider Dealmakers Awards.

The awards recognise the leading figures in the Yorkshire deal making community and were presented by Insider’s editor Adam Lovell, in front of an audience of over 600 at New Dock Hall.

The Team has been involved in a number of deals throughout the year including advising Servelec Group plc on its £120 million IPO on the Main Market of the London Stock Exchange which was also awarded the Dealmakers ‘Public Market Deal of the Year’ at last night’s awards. This was the largest software company IPO for a decade and one of the few IPOs on the Main Market to be handled outside London.

The Team was also recognised for advising InTechnology Plc on the sale of its subsidiary InTechnology Managed Services Limited to Redcentric for £65 million, and Endless LLP on the sale of bathstore as part of a management buyout.

Head of Corporate John Hamer said:

“We are delighted to have won this award which is recognition for the effort and commitment of all the Team.  I’d like to take the opportunity to thank all the Team for their hard work and client dedication during a busy year. Not only have we been able to act on some of the region’s largest M&A deals but our Equity Capital Markets expertise continues to attract this specialist work.” 

John Hamer was the recipient of both the ‘Corporate Lawyer of the Year Award’ and also ‘Dealmaker of the Year Award’ at last year’s Yorkshire Business Insider’s Dealmaker Awards.  And earlier this year corporate partner Debbie Jackson was listed in The Lawyer’s ‘Hot 100’ recognising her as one of the top 100 UK lawyers across all disciplines.

DM2014_Awards WINNER for web logo

Our Specialists